Print Back

Affordable Housing Pilot Projects Approved in Peel Region

PEEL REGION, Ontario, February 26, 2004 — Three pilot projects that will create 384 units of affordable housing for low-income people in Peel Region have been allocated a total of $4.3 million under the Canada-Ontario Affordable Housing Program.

The announcement was made by the Honourable Joseph Volpe, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, and Linda Jeffrey, MPP Brampton Centre, as part of $56 million allocated today to communities across Ontario.

"The Government of Canada is committed to providing affordable housing for communities across the country. These new housing units will address the needs of residents right here in Peel Region, and will help to build strong, sustainable communities," said Minister Volpe.

"The affordable housing program is an important part of the provincial government's efforts to strengthen the communities in which we live, and provide our people with a quality of life that is second to none," said Ms. Jeffrey.

"The Region of Peel highly values this new partnership with the Government of Canada and the Province of Ontario to bring more affordable housing to our citizens," said Emil Kolb, Peel Regional Chair. "These funds put us on solid ground to build new projects that will turn lives around in Peel."

The allocation to Peel Region includes:

Today's federal and provincial allocation will be complemented by more than $4 million in Peel Region capital funding plus other municipal financial incentives.

In Peel Region, the Government of Canada, through Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC), has contributed $3.5 million through the Canada-Ontario Affordable Housing Program Agreement.

The pilot projects are part of a five-year commitment that will create affordable housing units in Ontario. This partnership combines Government of Canada funding of $245 million with matching contributions of the Government of Ontario, municipalities and other private and non-profit partners.

For further information please contact:

Mary Johnson
Office of Minister of State Scott
(613) 952-1684

Ross Parry
Office of Minister Caplan
(416) 325-1657

Keith Ward
Peel Region
(905) 791-7800, Ext. 4670

For more information visit: