Print Back

$8.1 Million Allocated for Affordable Housing in City of Ottawa

OTTAWA, Ontario, November 5, 2004 — The Government of Canada and the Government of Ontario, along with the City of Ottawa, today held a press conference to announce the allocation of more than $ 8.1 million to help fund six pilot projects that will create 300 units of affordable housing for low-income people in Ottawa.

The announcement was made by Marlene Catterall, MP for Ottawa West-Nepean, on behalf of the Honourable Joseph Fontana, Minister of Labour and Housing, and Jim Watson, MPP Ottawa West-Nepean and Minister of Consumer and Business Affairs, as part of $8.7 million allocated today under the Canada/Ontario Affordable Housing Program. MP Marlene Catterall, MPP Jim Watson and George Bedard, representing Ottawa Mayor Bob Chiarelli, were present at the event.

"This announcement is a positive step in moving to address a critical need in this part of the province," said MP Catterall. "300 families will have access to a new home and this represents a tangible demonstration of our commitment to invest in affordable housing for Canadians in need."

"Affordable housing is a priority for the Government of Canada and we are very pleased that our partnership with the province and the City is helping more people to have access to a quality and affordable housing, said the Honourable Mauril Bélanger, MP for Ottawa-Vanier and Minister responsible for Eastern Ontario.

"This allocation represents a significant step in addressing the need for more affordable housing in the City of Ottawa," said Mr. Watson. "The province is committed to providing more affordable housing for needy people across Ontario."

"Ottawa has the most aggressive affordable housing program of the province of Ontario," said George Bedard. "This is another example of how three levels of government can work cooperatively to address affordable housing in our city."

The $8.1 million allocation to the City of Ottawa includes:

Doug Stewart, Russell Mawby, George Bedard, Marlene Caterall, Jim Watson...

Left to Right: Doug Stewart Vice President, Policy and Planning at CMHC; Russell Mawby, Director of Housing Branch; George Bedard, City of Ottawa Councilor; Marlene Caterall, Member of Parliament for Ottawa West Nepean; Jim Watson, Member of Provincial Parliament for Ottawa West Nepean, Lee Farnworth, Chair of Nepean Housing Corporation's Board; Pam Cripps, Manager with Blue Heron Coop; Bruce Potter from Salus Corporation; and Rob Remus from John Howard Society.

For further information please contact:

Peter Graham
Office of Minister Fontana
(613) 953-5646

Ross Parry
Office of Minister Caplan
(416) 325-1657

Joanne Mackell
Office of Mayor Chiarelli
(613) 580-2424 Ext. 28867

For more information visit: