Print Back

2006 CMHC Housing Awards Launched

OTTAWA, Ontario, December 5, 2005 — The President of Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) Karen Kinsley announced today the launch of the 2006 CMHC Housing Awards Program (HAP), to recognize best practices in Affordable Housing.

"The 2006 CMHC Housing Awards is an excellent opportunity for Canadian individuals and groups committed to creating affordable housing to showcase their initiatives," said Ms. Kinsley. "Winning projects will serve as great examples to generate new ideas and initiatives, as they will be shared with communities across the country."

Eligible applicants include individuals and organizations, private or public, who have implemented housing solutions in Canada between January 1, 2000 and
January 1, 2006. Applicants may submit their housing initiative in one of the five categories: buildings, housing finance, neighbourhoods, housing with resident services, or Aboriginal housing. The latter is a new category for 2006, in alignment with the Government of Canada's priority of developing sustainable Aboriginal communities.

The closing date for applications to the Housing Awards is April 5, 2006. Entries will be judged by an independent national committee made up of housing industry experts and representatives from business and academia. The winners will be announced by November 2006.

CMHC established the Housing Awards Program in 1988 to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of Canadian housing. The Housing Awards are presented every second year. Through the Housing Awards Program, the very best practices in housing are identified and celebrated, and then shared with communities across the country.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) is Canada's national housing agency. For close to 60 years, CMHC has been contributing to improving the living conditions and the well-being of Canadians through four areas of housing activities — housing finance, assisted housing, research and information transfer, and export promotion. CMHC is committed to helping Canadians access a wide choice of quality, affordable homes, and making vibrant and sustainable communities a reality across the country. For more information, visit

To request the Guidelines and Application Form, write to,or call 1 800 668-2642.

For more information, please contact:

Ruth Chamberland
Manager, Information Transfer and Outreach
(613) 748-2808

For Media Enquiries, please contact:

Christine Choury
Chief, Media and Associations Relations
(613) 742-5344

Public Enquiries:

1-800- 668-2642


CMHC Housing Awards Program 2006

The CMHC Housing Awards program was created in 1988 as a national forum to identify, recognize, and share best practices that have helped to improve the quality, choice and affordability of housing in Canada. The Program recognizes individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the advancement of Canadian housing.

The Housing Awards Program takes place every two years. Previous cycles have focused on the housing needs and requirements of a specific group (seniors, persons with disabilities, young families, Aboriginal people, and young people). Tomorrow's Housing Today was the theme for 2000 and in 2002, the awards focused on Affordable Housing Innovations. In 2004, the theme Best Practices in Affordable Housing was introduced. This theme will continue for 2006, with the addition of an Aboriginal Housing category.

The 2006 Housing Awards will recognize up to 16 best practices that have resulted in affordable housing.

A long term benefit, of the Housing Awards Program is the opportunity to encourage the adoption of award winning best practices that contribute to the advancement of affordable housing solutions across Canada.