CanEquity Mortgage Canada
Canadian mortgage rates,
mortgage calculator & news.

Canadian Mortgage News

February 2009 National News Archive


Related Links:
National Archive
2009 Archive
January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2009
August 2009
September 2009
October 2009
November 2009
December 2009

CanEquity Mortgage News RSS 2.0 Feed

CanEquity Mortgage News Atom Feed

About RSS and Atom Feeds

Portable Document Format Printable Version Page d'accueil franšais

Prescott and Russell Celebrates Affordable Housing

PRESCOTT AND RUSSELL, Ontario, February 13, 2009 — The Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario and the United Counties of Prescott and Russell today celebrated more than $2.3 million in funding for affordable housing in the United Counties of Prescott and Russell. The event marks the grand opening of 25 new affordable housing units in The Nation as well as new funding which will help create eight new affordable rental units in Rockland and provide down payment assistance to 27 households in the United Counties.

The announcement was made by Pierre Lemieux, Member of Parliament for Glengarry – Prescott – Russell, on behalf of the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, and Minister responsible for the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation; Jean-Marc Lalonde, MPP for Glengarry – Prescott – Russell, on behalf of the Honourable Jim Watson, Ontario’s Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; and Prescott and Russell Warden Robert Kirby.

“The Government of Canada is committed to making affordable housing available in Ontario and across Canada for those who need it most,” said MP Lemieux. “With the opening of this project, low-income seniors and individuals with special needs in Limoges will now have access to quality, affordable rental housing that meets their specific needs, while remaining close to their families and friends.”

“Through this allocation to Prescott and Russell, the McGuinty government is renewing its commitment to work with our housing partners to grow the supply of affordable housing,” said MPP Lalonde.

Today’s announcement recognizes two projects in the United Counties of Prescott and Russell:

  • The official opening of Residence Notre-Dame de la Paix at 44 Rue Des Benevoles in The Nation. The $2.1 million project, sponsored by RMJ Properties, earlier received $1.75 million under the Canada – Ontario Affordable Housing Program. The 25 units are occupied by low income seniors and individuals with special needs.
  • New funding of $420,000 for an eight-unit project in Clarence – Rockland. The project is sponsored by Rockland Housing Corporation, and the units will be occupied by seniors and individuals with special needs.

The announcement also includes $187,535 in down-payment assistance for 27 households in Prescott and Russell.

The federal and provincial allocations are complemented by more than $900,000 in municipal financial incentives.

“Thanks to the efforts and contributions between all levels of government, partnerships with the private and non-profit sector, I am proud to announce that the United Counties will be able to help 102 households benefit from the Canada – Ontario Affordable Housing Program,” said Warden Kirby. “In all, 33 households will move into newly constructed affordable units; 27 tenants will have realised the dream of owning their home and 40 other households in need can rely on a rent supplement, making their rents more affordable.”

The Canada – Ontario Affordable Housing Program comprises a commitment of $301 million from each of the two senior levels of government. In total, the federal, provincial and municipal governments will invest at least $734 million in the program, which will provide affordable housing for 20,000 households in Ontario. Under the AHP, every region in Ontario has been allocated a specific amount of funding to assist low to moderate-income rental households to purchase affordable homes through interest-free down-payment assistance loans.

Media Inquiries:

Michelle Bakos
Office of Minister Finley

Nicole Burgers
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation

Adam Grachnik
Office of Minister Watson

Anne Comtois Lalonde
The United Counties of Prescott & Russell
613-675-4642 ext. 6100

News source: Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC)


Top of page