CanEquity Mortgage Canada
Canadian mortgage rates,
mortgage calculator & news.

Canadian Mortgage News

June 2010 National News Archive


Related Links:
National Archive
2010 Archive
January 2010
February 2010
March 2010
April 2010
May 2010
June 2010
July 2010
August 2010
September 2010
October 2010
November 2010
December 2010

CanEquity Mortgage News RSS 2.0 Feed

CanEquity Mortgage News Atom Feed

About RSS and Atom Feeds

Portable Document Format Printable Version Page d'accueil franšais

Governor Carney appointed Chairman of the Committee on the Global Financial System

BASEL, Switzerland, June 29, 2010 — Governor Mark Carney has been named Chairman of the Committee on the Global Financial System (CGFS), a forum for central banks to discuss policy issues related to financial markets and systems.

The appointment, effective 1 July 2010 for a term of three years, was made in Basel by the central bank governors of the Global Economy Meeting (GEM),1 which includes 30 central bank governors within the membership of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS).

Governor Carney succeeds Donald L. Kohn, who has been CGFS Chairman since July 2006, and is retiring as Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

The CGFS, an organization hosted by the BIS, monitors developments in global financial markets for central bank governors, in particular to identify and respond to threats to the stability of financial markets and the global financial system. It has a mandate to identify and assess potential sources of stress in global financial markets, to further understanding of the structural underpinnings of financial markets, and to promote improvements to the functioning and stability of financial markets. Further information about the CGFS may be found on the BIS website.

1. The members of the GEM consist of Governors from 30 BIS shareholding central banks: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States, as well as the President of the European Central Bank and the President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.

News source: Bank of Canada


Top of page